local author Doug Wynne presents CTHULHU BLUES

SEPT 22ND AT 7PM WE WILL HOST A CELEBRATION FOR DOUG WYNNE'S LATEST BOOK

As a thriller, horror and dark fantasy writer, local author Doug Wynne has won much praise, especially for his Spectra Files Trilogy.  CTHULHU BLUES is the stunning conclusion to that trilogy: 

The Wade House has been reduced to ash, but the dreams that plagued Becca Philips and Jason Brooks when they slept in that abomination continue to haunt them. After years of facing trans-dimensional monsters in the service of SPECTRA, a few lingering nightmares are to be expected. But when Becca starts singing in her sleep—an ancient song that conjures dreadful things from mirrored surfaces—she fears that the harmonics she was exposed to during the Red Equinox terror event may have mutated not only her perception, but also her voice. It’s a gift—or curse—that she shares with a select group of children born to other witnesses of the incursion.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          While a shadowy figure known as the “Crimson Minstrel” gathers these children to form an infernal choir, something ancient stirs on the ocean floor. And Becca, hearing its call, once again finds herself running from an agency she can no longer trust, into the embrace of cosmic forces she can barely comprehend

“Douglas Wynne’s RED EQUINOX is a propulsive, edge-of-your-seat supernatural thriller that drop-kicks H. P. Lovecraft’s Cthulhu mythos into the 21st century. Wynne summons dark, ancient horrors into our hyperconnected, high-tech era with taut prose, captivating characters, and refreshing originality. The Great Old Ones will surely be pleased.” — Michael M. Hughes, author of The Blackwater Lights trilogy 

“No Lovecraft fan–or horror fan for that matter–should miss this one!  Philosophical and creepy…I enjoyed it immensely.” –Mike Davis, The Lovecraft eZin

Black January unites the best tradition of thrillers and cosmic horror.  Wynne expands upon Lovecraftian mythology with style.” –Laird Barron, author of Swift to Chase

“Fans of John Connolly and Preston & Child will love Black January, a top-notch supernatural thriller full of suspense, horror, and wonder, with the coolest opening I’ve read in ages. Douglas Wynne is the real deal.” –Christopher Golden, New York Times bestselling author of Snowblind and Of Saints and Shadows

 

Doug Wynne is  the author of five novels: The Devil of Echo LakeSteel Breeze, and the SPECTRA Files trilogy (Red EquinoxBlack January, and Cthulhu Blues). His recently published and forthcoming short fiction includes stories in the anthologies The Gods of H.P. LovecraftTales from the Miskatonic LibraryShadows Over Main Street 2, and I Am the Abyss. He lives in Salisbury with his wife and son and a houseful of animals.   

Event date: 
Friday, September 22, 2017 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Jabberwocky Bookshop
at the Tannery, 50 Water St.
Newburyport, MA 01950
Red Equinox Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781940161457
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: JournalStone - January 16th, 2015

Black January: A Spectra Files Novel Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781945373084
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: JournalStone - October 21st, 2016

The Devil of Echo Lake Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781936564538
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: JournalStone - October 19th, 2012

Steel Breeze Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781936564842
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: JournalStone - July 19th, 2013